International solo choreography and contemporary music festival.

Unit Motives #4: Berio - March 28-29, 2020, Vitruvian Thing.

Coronavirus update:

We really, really know nothing at this stage. We're looking into our options with other dates. Ticket sales are temporarily suspended. More info soon.

Die Wolke art group continues its work on the development and presentation of research and creative materials, and, for the fourth consecutive year, presents its Unit Motives initiative for the creation of solo works on music by 20th century composers. This year, the event aims to explore the different kinetic and choreographic approaches to the interpretation of works by Luciano Berio.

A different dance festival: Eight participant dancers from Greece, Italy, the USA, Germany, and Japan, will present a short solo of their own choreography, made through the exchange of information and video with Die Wolke, as well as personal research.

Luciano Berio (1925-2003) is regarded by many as the most naturally musical and least doctrinaire of the post-1945 avant-garde composers. He was a forerunner in the development of electronic composition, as well as the combination of speech and music. He was also an active orchestra conductor and professor, as well as the director of the Studio di Fonologia Musicale in Milan.

Unit Motives is an independent festival that aims to bring together solo choreography and contemporary music.

Every year, Unit Motives’ organisers select a 20th century composer and selected applicants are called to create a short solo on one of his/her pieces that will echo its aesthetic and composition methodology, as well as the spirit and historical significance of the composer in general.

Unit Motives is first a foremost a research opportunity. Drosia Triantaki (choreographic director), Dani Joss (musical advisor), and guest experts and consultants stay in constant communication with the participants, facilitated via video exchange, in order to provide information and context to the creative process, which culminates with a five-day stay in Thessaloniki and the final performances.

This year's participants:

Past Unit Motives:

Past participants:

Ashley Menestrina (USA)
Nicole Nigro (Canada)
Ioanna Bili (UK, Greece)
Areti Michou (Greece)
Irene Fiordillino (Italy, UK)
Chara Thodi (Greece)
Aneta Parpouli (Greece)
Enora Gemin (France)
Marian Mariani (Greece)
Dana Raz (Israel/Spain)
Anna Kyriazi (Greece)
Olina Economidou (Greece)
Erika Silgoner + Noemi Dalla Vecchia (Italy)
Rima Pipoyan (Armenia)
Christina Bitiou (Greece)
Malvina - Nicoletta Androni + Foteini Lata (Greece)
Pelagia Tsakalidou (Greece)
Korhan Basaran + Umut Sevgul (Turkey)
Maria Garefi (Greece)
Katerina Taitzoglou (Greece)
Afina Erofeeva (Russia)
Stella Mastorosteriou | Faedra Charalampidou (Greece)
Maria Pisiou (Greece)
Margarita Symeonidou (Greece)
Evi Tzortzi (Greece)
Fenia Chatzakou (Greece)
Vicky Aggelidou | Vasiliki Kapetanaki (Greece)


Stay hostel

2020 Press sponsors: